The Peak of our Fall Mums – FFF 10/28/16

Floral Foto Friday is a weekly opportunity to see a collection of flowers from around the world gathers on a nifty site by Nick, who identifies himself as a academic from Melbourne Australia. He and his friends who join him weekly present a collection of plants unfamiliar to me and likely many of you here in the United States. I invite you to follow the link and see what else is available to gardening enthusiasts.

This week I am sharing the fall mums my wife planted in our west facing window boxes on the front of our home. From Mid May until Mid September they are home to Geraniums, but usually we switch them out for chrysanthemums when they have done their thing for the summer. This year my wife selected some robust yellow mums and they have made a wonderful show.

in my region these will not always live though our winter. I am thinking about trying a different approach, taking these out of the window boxes and digging into a pile of wood chips and planting them to try to allow them to survive until spring. If it works I will share the proof next spring.

fff

Leave a Reply

