2015 A to Z My Favorite Plants – H – Hosta

Eight days into the A to Z and I am getting excited because many of my favorite plants are beginning to show signs of emergence as Spring grips my area. Among this list of favorites is my choice for H, the Hosta.  A Hosta is a predominantly foliage plant, although it will bloom at the appointed time in it’s life cycle.

hosta1 Hosta2

The Hosta does best in a shaded area, but at our home shade is a luxury. We have several Hostas, and they don’t fare as well when the temperature climbs into the 80s and 90s during the summer.

7 thoughts on “2015 A to Z My Favorite Plants – H – Hosta

  1. Liz Young

    I used to grow hostas in England but the slugs loved them and they always ended up looking like lace. Here in Tenerife it’s too hot for either hostas or slugs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

