2015 A to Z My Favorite Plants – C – Clematis

Welcome to day 3 of the A to Z Challenge. By now, if you have read many of my posts, you know I love ALL flowers. But love comes in many degrees, right? Clematis is one of my higher degrees of love. My most favorite of all time is a white Clematis we had at our first home. Unfortunately it did not survive the move to the home we have now. It was white as snow and I have yet to find it again.

We have four different varieties growing right now. The star is the Montana Ruebens I will share with my first picture. It is easily the most prolific, mainly due to it’s habit of growing 30-40 feet this gem is very showy. It has a profusion of light pink blooms that are so gorgeous to see.

105

This is a Montana Ruebens Clematis.  Light pink with habit to grow 35-40 feet. Due to the weight it cannot climb the light pole in the middle.

WP_20140626_008I also have this striped Clematis, which is the only two tone in my current landscape configuration. It does not grow nearly as large as the Montana Ruebens, but has been around just as long. All of the varieties I have were added during the time I owned my own greenhouse business. I cannot truly pick a favorite between the Clematis I have.

WP_20140626_016Another of the Clematis around our deck, this one has a particularly rich color when it first blooms. The color begins to gradually fade as the bloom wanes. The largest display of all the clematis comes in the spring, usually about mid-May. Most   of them will bloom again in the fall although it is not usually such a showy display.

I also have a rich blue Clematis flanking the one above, but for whatever reason I cannot dig up a photo to share in this post. I hope you enjoy the A to Z choice for C.

10 thoughts on “2015 A to Z My Favorite Plants – C – Clematis

  1. jeremyh05251977

    Enjoyed this post… Welcome in the “C”… as a host I am stopping by to say thank you!
    Jeremy [Retro]
    AtoZ Challenge Co-Host [2015]

    There’s no earthly way of knowing.
    Which direction we are going!

    HOLLYWOOD NUTS!
    Come Visit: You know you want to know if me or Hollywood… is Nuts?

    Reply
  2. Donna

    Hello! I so enjoyed the clematis! I have always loved flowers and nature myself. As a child I was particularly fond of Morning Glories (still am) and that’s what the clematis reminds me of. They are so beautiful! I hope you find your snow white clematis someday 🙂

    Reply
  3. helenalemon

    I also love flowers, but really have to be content, right now, to enjoy the efforts of others, such as yourself, to bring the beauty to me. You have done a superb job! Beautiful Clematis!

    Reply
  4. Z. R. Southcombe

    I do enjoy the choice 🙂 I’ve seen the striped clematis here in NZ before, but don’t think I’ve seen it grown out to a bush like your white ones are. They’re beautiful!

    Reply
  5. Lis

    I love Clematis, too! I have eight different varieties around my home and am planting 3 more this spring. Your clematis are gorgeous!

    Reply
  6. Camp That Site

    I love clematis as well and there are many beautiful varieties that grow in the BC area but for some reason none in my garden. I have tried and tried but I never get any bloom, it’s very frustrating when I see these large flowering plants all around me and cannot grow my own. Any suggestions?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

