2015 A to Z My Favorite Plants – A – Amaryllis

My experience with Amaryllis has been brief, basically just over the last two years. Like everyone else, I always used to see them in the stores when the end of year holiday sales began. I have tried a few over the years with varying degrees of success. But none that I bought ever seemed to live after the initial bloom cycle.

My experience changed however when I noticed an Amaryllis that belonged to my aunt. It was one that had been given to her by her mother. I am unsure how long she had it before my aunt got it, but I know it was a considerable amount of time due to the size. I expressed an interest and soon after my aunt brought me part of hers to grow on my own.

It took about four months to get a bloom and it was a different color than any I had seen before.

WP_20140422_001WP_20140502_001 WP_20140504_001WP_20140508_001

 

I was visiting a local greenhouse late last week and saw some of their Amarayllis. The ones they sell have only a large bulb and the bloom stems. The ones they sell are the bright red I usually see for sale around the holidays. That is one reason the particular color I have is so interesting to me.

133 137 062 859

2 thoughts on “2015 A to Z My Favorite Plants – A – Amaryllis

  1. datatater

    Lovely! I tried an Amaryllis this past Christmas, and it grew like CRAZY, getting to be about 2 feet tall in just a couple of weeks, and then it stopped. It looked fine, nice and green, but it never grew a bulb – just LONG leaves that eventually drooped down over the sides. Grr… I’ll try again next winter. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

