My Love of Clematis

By now, if you have read many of my posts, you know I love ALL flowers. But love comes in many degrees, right? Clematis is one of my higher degrees of love. My most favorite of all time is a white Clematis we has at our first home. Unfortunately it did not survive the move. It was white as snow and I have yet to find it again. I will dig for a photo of it and scan it to my computer to add here. In the meantime I hope you enjoy the ones we have now. I know I have some photos of a blue one, but cannot find them right now. I will edit if I find.

105

This is a Montana Ruebens Clematis. Light pink with habit to grow 35-40 feet. Due to the weight it cannot climb the light pole in the middle.

WP_20140626_008 WP_20140626_016

17 thoughts on “My Love of Clematis

    1. Joe Owens Post author

      Ours is going on twelve years. Unfortunately last year we got a frost right before the blooms opened and the display was greatly reduced. I plan to pay more attention this year to protect the blooms..

      Reply
  1. myfoodandflowers

    Me, too!! 🙂 I am growing few large bloom varieties from seeds and they are growing!! Do you grow them from seeds or cuttings? If you do, perhaps we can exchange few seeds?

    Reply
    1. Joe Owens Post author

      I have only grown from plants I purchase, but can save seeds and we could exchange. I always marvel at the numerous seeds that are on the plants after the blooms drop off.

      Reply
      1. myfoodandflowers

        I have lots fall collected ‘Nelly Moser’ and ‘The President’ and ‘Sweet Autumn'(lots of small single white in late summer to fall but fragrant) now and I am small amount of ‘The First Lady’ (single pink and probably the biggest bloom variety of clematis, also I am getting some unique fragrant single black clematis seeds this year to grow!! I have lots of clematis seedlings are growing now. 🙂 Let me know the varieties you have, thanks!

      2. Joe Owens Post author

        Will have to look at a Park seed book to see what varieties I have. It has been so long I do not remember. I used to have a greenhouse business called Potter’s Dream and I ordered my Clematis from them.

  2. jammy7000

    Clematis are beautiful and there are so many wonderful varieties. Many of them have interesting seed heads as well!
    Thank you for participating in Floral Friday Fotos! I would appreciate it if you linked back to my blog when post in FFF 🙂

    Reply
      1. Joe Owens Post author

        I could not add the link this past week because I was on a tour bus with my daughter’s band traveling to Chicago and my Kindle Fire is not WordPress friendly. I definitely will from now on though. I need to search for my next selection sometime today.

Leave a Reply

